Skip to main content

You are in:

Home Large Print Books Fiction Sagas When We Danced At The End Of The Pier

When We Danced At The End Of The Pier (large print)
Sandy Taylor

When We Danced At The End Of The Pier

(You can remove it later)
 

Book summary

Brighton 1930: Maureen O’Connell is a carefree girl, but her family is on the brink of tragedy, war is looming and life will never be the same again.

Jack and Nelson have always been dear friends to Maureen. Despite their different backgrounds, they’ve seen each other through thick and thin.

As Maureen blossoms from a little girl into a young woman, the candle she’s always held for Jack burns bright. But just as she’s found love, war wrenches them apart. The man she cherishes with all her heart is leaving.

When the bombs start to fall, Maureen and her family find themselves living in the most dangerous of times. With Jack no longer by her side and Nelson at war, Maureen has never felt more alone. Can she look to a brighter future? And will she find the true happiness she’s dreamt of?

An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching story about the enduring power of love, hope and friendship during the darkest of days. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe, Kitty Neale and Ellie Dean.

What readers are saying about When We Danced at the End of the Pier:

‘A beautiful and emotional read. I don’t think I can remember the last time a book moved me to tears so many times whilst reading it. I shed tears of happiness as well as sadness. This is one author who creates characters that will totally capture the readers hearts and I know that them and their story will remain with me for a very long time to come.’ By the Letter Book Reviews

‘What an amazing, sensitively written, emotional, poignant and absolutely wonderful story! The author's writing is exquisite and we are drawn into Maureen's world, feeling for all the characters every step of the way.’ Renita D’Silva

‘Oh my word I honestly can't remember the last time a book made me feel so emotional. Well this book made me laugh one minute and bawl my eyes out the next. It was absolutely brilliant. Right from the first page I was glued to it and just didn't want to put it down. Sandy Taylor is one amazing writer and the way she writes and describes the character really pulls you into the story. I can't recommend this book highly enough. It is simply amazing.’ Goodreads Review

‘The story was deeply emotional and moving…All the characters are endearing and touching. The dramatic scenes are heart-wrenching…The author really managed to write a beautiful tale about family, true love and friendship. If you are a bit of a softie, expect a few tears rolling down your cheeks!’ La Biblio De Caro

 

 

 

Other categories worth exploring

 

You may wish to read our delivery charge and refund policies.

Not ready to buy just yet? Bookmark this page and come back any time you want!

Large Print
Special Offers


Suggested
reading

Check out these great reading suggestions:


Large Print
Best Sellers