Skip to main content

Sports Large Print Books

Browse & search Sports large print books

Browse by author surname

 

Browse by book title

 

 

 

 

9 Sports Large print books available

Displaying 1-9 of 9

 

1. Brim Full of Passion Large Print - Alan Wilkinson, Wasim Khan

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 14.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

Adult, sports autobiography, printed in Large Print. Brim Full of Passion follows the story of Wasim Khan's journey to becoming the first British born Asian to play professional cricket. Eight-year-old Wasim Khan yanks a board out of the garden fence, nicks his Mum's only decent knife, and starts whittling. A month later he's putting his first bat to good use: sending the school's tennis balls high onto the roof so that he can sneak back over the gate at night and liberate them. Brim Full of Passion follows this son of Kashmiri immigrants from the grimy streets of Small Heath to leafy Edgbaston, where he breaks in through the fence to watch England play Pakistan. A year later he's there legitimately, batting for the under-13s. The dream is simple: Warwickshire, England, the world. After four gruelling years as an apprentice pro he makes the all-conquering Bears team of 1995, and is on the brink of the England 'A' squad. But a loss of form, a dodgy selection policy, and one of the first British-born Asians to make the country grade loses his confidence. A move to Sussex is a disaster: he falls out with captain Chris Adams, can't get a game, and winds up playing for Derbyshire for nothing. At 30 it's all over and he's embarking on a new career as a coach. Anything to stay in the game he loves.

(You can remove it later)

2. Coach Wooden and Me: Our 50-Year Friendship on and Off the Court - Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: 29.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar explores his 50-year friendship with Coach John Wooden, one of the most enduring and meaningful relationships in sports history.

(You can remove it later)

3. Kung Fu - The Way of Heaven & Earth - Mike Symonds

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 17.95  - Click book title for availability and further details

Kung Fu - The Way of Heaven & Earth is a first hand account of a complete and comprehensive system of Taoist Arts which has taken over 33 years to develop. Devotees of any Martial Art will find this book interesting as it also covers the history of Chinese Kung Fu as well as the history of Wudang (the traditional seat of Taoism) with copious references and dates. From basic stances to blocks, punches and kicks, everything is clearly illustrated and a few traditional secrets revealed. For the first time health and safety in warm-up exercises and why you should avoid certain methods is also explained, so making this book useful for all who train in any exercise form. Many things are explained in this book that have never been made public before because of the Chinese people's love of secrecy, and, as one reviewer notes, it is all explained in plain English. This is the birth of a long term best seller in the Martial Arts world!

(You can remove it later)

4. Reynolds, Raschi and Lopat: New York's Big Three and the Great - Sol Gittleman

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 35.95  - Click book title for availability and further details

When the 1949-1953 New York Yankees won an astounding five consecutive World Series, they did it without the offensive firepower that characterized so many of their championship teams before and after. This book focuses on the close relationship and quiet achievement of Allie Reynolds, Vic Raschi and Eddie Lopat.

(You can remove it later)

5. Salt Water Fly Fishing - Joe Brooks

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 13.95  - Click book title for availability and further details

Brooks was one of the earliest pioneers of salt water techniques and saltwater flies. His book, originally published in 1950, remains one of the best overall guides to the sport.

(You can remove it later)

6. Shoeless: The Life and Times of Joe Jackson - David L. Fleitz

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 35.95  - Click book title for availability and further details

(You can remove it later)

7. The M14-Type Rifles: A Shooters and Collectors Guide - Joe Poyer

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 11.50  - Click book title for availability and further details

(You can remove it later)

8. The New York Giants Base Ball Club: The Growth of a Team and a S - James D. Hardy

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 35.95  - Click book title for availability and further details

Though baseball would eventually come to embody the American spirit, in the nineteenth century onlookers regarded the game with some ambivalence. To capture the hearts of the public, baseball needed teams worth watching - and no team was a better ambassador for baseball in the 19th century than the New York Giants.

(You can remove it later)

9. The Three-Year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory - Julie Checkoway

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: 27.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes the inspirational, untold story of impoverished children who transformed themselves into world-class swimmers.

(You can remove it later)
    Displaying 1-9 of 9 Result Pages:  
  • 1
  •  

Large Print
Special Offers


Suggested
reading

Check out these great reading suggestions:


Large Print
Best Sellers

    No large print book best seller currently available