Skip to main content

You are in:

Home Large Print Books Non-fiction Arts & music ‘P’ Authors

Arts & music ‘P’ Authors

Arts & music large print authors (8 authors)

 

View other Arts & music authors

 

 

 

10 Arts & music Large print books available

Displaying 1-10 of 10

 

1. Tales from the Back Green - Bill Paterson

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: 25.19  - Click book title for availability and further details

(You can remove it later)

2. Favorite Hymns and Prayers - Chalice Press

Largeprint (Spiral bound) Our price: 9.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

(You can remove it later)

3. Trouble in the Camera Club (Large Print 16pt) - Don Pyle

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 24.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

Trouble in the Camera Club features over 300 photographs by Don Pyle and another 200 images of related ephemera from the earliest days of Toronto's punk music scene, featuring early gigs by Toronto bands like The Viletones, Teenage Head, The Curse, The Diodes, and The Ugly, and visiting punks the Ramones, Iggy Pop, Patti Smith, The Clash, Vibrators, The Stranglers, and other artists influential to the punk movement including Bryan Ferry, David Bowie, and Cheap Trick.
Starting in 1976, at age 14, Don Pyle witnessed and photographed some of the earliest gigs of Toronto punk acts and many of the artists whose sensibilities aligned with this new, festering subculture. According to Steven Leckie of The Viletones, Pyle's photographs ''made everyone look heroic, as good as Annie Leibovitz and Linda McCartney.''
In 1977, Pyle bought a 35mm camera and joined his high school's camera club to learn how to develop and print, and to get free chemicals for processing. His trial - and - error education in photography resulted in a collection of images that, 30 - something years later, are as much historic document as they are pictures of an under - represented and significant period in Toronto's musical cultural development. Scratched, water - marked, and dusty negatives were restored to reveal his hidden history of the revolution. Numerous artists that have since passed away are captured in this book in their creative prime, frozen in youthful self - absorbed beauty. These are photos taken by a kid in awe of what he was seeing and who was pressed against the stage at every gig, not by a ''professional'' who observed from the sidelines.
Trouble in the Camera Club is a one - of - a - kind photo - documentary of this golden moment - the birth of punk.

(You can remove it later)

4. When Variety Was King Memoir of a TV Pioneer (Large Print 16pt) - Frank Peppiatt

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 19.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

He created Hee Haw, the number - one show on TV. He wrote and produced variety shows for Jackie Gleason, Andy Williams, Judy Garland, Julie Andrews, Sonny and Cher, and Perry Como. He invented the rock TV show Hullabaloo. He was the most popular producer of his time a time when variety television was king. With his writing/producing partner John Aylesworth, Frank Peppiatt developed dozens of TV shows but their career began on air in the initial days of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, alongside other talented newcomers like Norman Jewison and Arthur Hiller. Then came a call from New York to write for the Eydie Gorme/Steve Lawrence show in 1958, and quickly A & P became the most in - demand writing and producing team around.

Peppiatt, a man who spent his life behind the scenes writing comedy and turning entertainers into household names, now recounts his own remarkable life story: a humble Canadian boy who grew up to create iconic American TV shows amid a cast of Hollywood celebrities. When Variety Was King captures the early days of TV with humour and spice.

(You can remove it later)

5. Eugene O'Neill's America Desire Under Democracy (Large Print 16pt) - John Patrick Diggins

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 30.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

In the face of seemingly relentless American optimism, Eugene O'Neill's plays reveal an America many would like to ignore, a place of seething resentments, aching desires, and family tragedy, where failure and disappointment are the norm and the American dream a chimera. Though derided by critics during his lifetime, his works resonated with audiences, won him the Nobel Prize and four Pulitzer, and continue to grip theatergoers today. Now noted historian John Patrick Diggins offers a masterly biography that both traces O'Neill's tumultuous life and explains the forceful ideas that form the heart of his unflinching works. Diggins paints a richly detailed portrait of the playwright's life, from his Irish roots and his early years at sea to his relationships with his troubled mother and brother. Here we see O'Neill as a young Greenwich Village radical, a ravenous autodidact who attempted to understand the disjunction between the sunny public face of American life and the rage that he knew was simmering beneath. According to Diggins, O'Neill mined this disjunction like no other American writer. His characters burn with longing for an idealized future composed of equal parts material success and individual freedom, but repeatedly they fall back to earth, pulled by the tendrils of family and the insatiability of desire. Drawing on thinkers from Emerson to Nietzsche, O'Neill viewed this endlessly frustrated desire as the problematic core of American democracy, simultaneously driving and undermining American ideals of progress, success, and individual freedom. Melding a penetrating assessment of O'Neill's works and thought with a sensitive re-creation of his life, Eugene O'Neill's America offers a striking new view of America's greatest playwright - and a new picture of American democracy itself.

(You can remove it later)

6. Far and Away A Prize Every Time (Large Print 16pt) - Neil Peart

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 24.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

Following in the tradition of Ghost Rider and Traveling Music, Rush drummer Neil Peart lets us ride with him along the backroads of North America, Europe, and South America, sharing his experiences in personal reflections and full - color photos. Spanning almost four years, these 22 stories are open letters that recount adventures both personal and universal - from the challenges and accomplishments in the professional life of an artist to the birth of a child. These popular stories, originally posted on Neil's website, are now collected and contextualized with a new introduction and conclusion in this beautifully designed collector's volume.
Fans will discover a more intimate side to Neil's very private personal life and will enjoy his observations of natural phenomena. At one point, he anxiously describes the birth of two hummingbirds in his backyard; at the same time, his wife is preparing for the birth of their daughter - a striking synchronicity tenderly related to readers.
A love of drumming, nature, art, and the open road threads through the narrative, as Neil explores new horizons, both physical and spiritual. This is the personal, introspective travelogue of rock's foremost drummer, enthusiastic biker, and sensitive husband and father. Far and Away is a book to be enjoyed again and again, like letters from a distant friend.

(You can remove it later)

7. Roadshow Landscape with Drums: A Concert Tour by Motorcycle (Large Print 16pt) - Neil Peart

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 24.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

For thirty years, drummer, author, and songwriter Neil Peart had wanted to write a book about ''the biggest journey of all in my restless existence: the life of a touring musician.'' Finally, the right time, and the right tour . . . In the summer of 2004, after three decades, twenty gold albums, and thousands of performances spanning four continents, the band Rush embarked on a celebratory 30th Anniversary World Tour. The ''R30'' tour traveled to nine countries, where the band performed fifty - seven shows in front of more than half a million fans. Uniquely, Peart chose to do his between - show traveling by motorcycle, riding 21,000 miles of back roads and highways in North America and Europe - from Appalachian hamlets and Western deserts to Scottish castles and Alpine passes. Roadshow illuminates the daunting rigors of a major international concert tour, as well as Peart's exploration of the scenic byways and country towns along the way. His evocative and entertaining prose carries the reader through every performance and every journey, sharing the bittersweet reflections triggered by the endlessly unfolding landscape. Observations and reflections range from the poignantly, achingly personal to the wickedly irreverent. Part behind - the - scenes memoir, part existential travelogue, Roadshow winds through nineteen countries on both sides of the Atlantic, in search of the perfect show, the perfect meal, the perfect road, and an elusive inner satisfaction that comes only with the recognition that the journey itself is the ultimate destination. The inner workings of the tour, the people Peart works with and the people he meets, the roads and stages and ever - changing scenery - all flow into an irresistible story.

(You can remove it later)

8. Who Wants to Be Me - Regis Philbin

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: 35.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

(You can remove it later)

9. Ghost Rider Travels on the Healing Road (Large Print 16pt) - Neil Peart

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: 24.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

Within a ten - month period, Neil Peart lost both his 19 - year - old daughter, Selena, and his wife, Jackie. Faced with overwhelming sadness and isolated from the world in his home on the lake, Peart was left without direction. This memoir tells of the sense of personal devastation that led him on a 55,000 - mile journey by motorcycle across much of North America, down through Mexico to Belize, and back again. Peart's journey of self - exile and exploration chronicle his personal odyssey and include stories of reuniting with friends and family, grieving, and reminiscing. He recorded with dazzling artistry, the enormous range of his travel adventures, from the mountains to the seas, from the deserts to the Arctic ice, and the memorable people who contributed to his healing. Ghost Rider is a brilliantly written, and ultimately triumphant narrative memoir from a gifted writer and the drummer and lyricist of the legendary rock band Rush.

(You can remove it later)

10. Life Beyond Measure: Letters to My Great-Granddaughter - Sidney Poitier

Largeprint (Paperback / softback) Our price: 23.99  - Click book title for availability and further details

(You can remove it later)
    Displaying 1-10 of 10 Result Pages:  
  • 1
  •  

Large Print
Special Offers


Suggested
reading

Check out these great reading suggestions:


Large Print
Best Sellers