Skip to main content

FREE DELIVERY* on all books marked: Currently in stock (*UK Orders Only)

someone enjoying reading a book in large print

Welcome to the online Large Print Bookshop, the UK's leading retailer of large print books. It's an invaluable resource for those looking to find out more about books for the visually impaired.

Nearly all of the books listed on this site are printed in 16 point font size.

 
 

Book of the Month

 See What I Have Done - Sarah Schmidt

LargeprintOur Price: £19.50  - Click book title for availability and further details

Haunting, gripping and gorgeously written, SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE by Sarah Schmidt is a re-imagining of the unsolved American true crime case of the Lizzie Borden murders, for fans of BURIAL RITES and MAKING A MURDERER.

'Eerie and compelling' Paula Hawkins

'Stunning' Sunday Times

'Gripping... outstanding' Observer

'Glittering' Irish Times

Just after 11am on 4th August 1892, the bodies of Andrew and Abby Borden are discovered. He's found on the sitting room sofa, she upstairs on the bedroom floor, both murdered with an axe.

It is younger daughter Lizzie who is first on the scene, so it is Lizzie who the police first question, but there are others in the household with stories to tell: older sister Emma, Irish maid Bridget, the girls' Uncle John, and a boy who knows more than anyone realises.

In a dazzlingly original and chilling reimagining of this most notorious of unsolved mysteries, Sarah Schmidt opens the door to the Borden home and leads us into its murkiest corners, where jealousies, slow-brewed rivalries and the darkest of thoughts reside.


(You can remove it later)

 

 

Other large print books we like

 

1. The End of Sleep - Rowan Somerville

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: £9.99  - Currently in stock

During the course of a day, Fin, a newspaperman, is on the scent of a story to end all stories. With little more than a rumpled suit to his name, he sets out on the trail of Farouk, a teller of tales who alone knows what Fin wants to hear.

(You can remove it later)

2. Light in a Dark House - Jan Costin Wagner

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: £14.99  - Currently in stock

Finnish detective Kimmo Joentaa is called to the local hospital in which his young wife died several years before. An unidentified woman in a coma has been murdered by someone who wept over the body, their tears staining the sheets around her. The death marks the start of a series of killings, with the unknown patient at their centre.

(You can remove it later)

3. Bed - David Whitehouse

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: £14.99  - Currently in stock

Winner of the Betty Trask Prize 2012.

Selected for the longlist of the Desmond Elliott Prize 2012.

Mal isn't like the other kids. He makes an impression on everyone he meets. So remarkable is his childhood that his family waits for the incredible things he seems born to do. Then one day he goes to bed, never to get out again.

(You can remove it later)

4. The Hopeless Life of Charlie Summers - Paul Torday

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: £14.99  - Currently in stock

Hector Chetwode-Talbot, Eck to his friends, has left the army. From a privileged background, he is at a loss as to what to do, when he is approached by an old army pal, Bilbo Mountwilliam. Bilbo persuades Eck to join his company as a 'greeter'.

(You can remove it later)

5. The Weekend - Bernhard Schlink

Largeprint (Hardback) Our price: £14.99  - Currently in stock

Old friends & lovers reunite for a weekend in a secluded country home after spending decades apart. They plumb their memories of each other & pass quiet judgments on the life decisions each has made since their youth.

(You can remove it later)

6. The Holy City - Patrick McCabe

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: £9.99  - Currently in stock

A compelling, disturbing and darkly funny new novel from the author of 'Breakfast on Pluto', 'The Butcher Boy' and 'Winterwood'.

(You can remove it later)

7. Year of Wonders: Insight Study Guide to Geraldine Brooks' novel - Virginia Lee

Largeprint (Paperback) Our price: £16.99  - Currently in stock

This text guide is written by a highly experienced classroom teacher of senior English and Literature who is currently Head of English at Emmaus College in Melbourne. She is a long - established and top writer of Insight Text Guides and co - author of a number of English text books who is known for her clear and incisive thinking. This is a top text guide!

(You can remove it later)

8. Stone Mattress - Margaret Atwood

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: £14.99  - Currently in stock

Arecently widowed fantasy writer is guided through a stormy winter evening by the voice of her late husband. An elderly lady with Charles Bonnetís syndrome comes to terms with the little people she keeps seeing, while a newly-formed populist group gathers to burn down her retirement residence. A woman born with a genetic abnormality is mistaken for a vampire.

(You can remove it later)

9. This is the Life - Alex Sherer

Largeprint (paperback) Our price: £14.99  - Currently in stock

This is the story of Louis, who never quite fitted in, and of his younger brother who always tagged along. Two brothers on one final journey together, wading through the stuff that is thicker than water. Tender-hearted, at times achingly funny, This is the Life is a moving testimony to both the resilience of the human spirit and to the price of strawberries.

(You can remove it later)

 

Browse large
print books

 

News letter

Join our mailing list.

Email:

 

Large Print
Special Offers


Suggested
reading

Check out these great reading suggestions:


Large Print
Best Sellers